Tags

, ,

I am in love with lithographs, but not all the hard work needed to produce one.  Internet surfing always brings something new to the table.  This time, I started reading about a lithography printing process that does not use the traditional stone.  If you’ve ever tried it, you’ll know why it isn’t for every printmaker. The stone grinding is tedious and back breaking.

A Canadian Art prof, Nik Semenoff, invented and experimented with a way that creates a litho without so much waste or toxins, and he replaced the stone plate with an aluminum plate.  If you want more info, just google his name. He and his sites are a wealth of knowledge. I feel like I know a celebrity when I check with him about processes. Love him.
http://homepage.usask.ca/~nis715/waterless%202014.html
http://www.ndiprintmaking.ca/

I am in the process of learning more about his technique, and then I will hopefully present it to some art teachers here.

I have lots of notes and little sample lithos if you are interested in learning more.   Just drop me a line.

 

