Tags

, ,

I’m in love, again. With wools. And yarns. And fibres. And spinning. And weaving. The colours and textures make me crazy with desire. The potential is infinite and I’m excited to explore it all. I visited the silk weaving gallery on Granville Island in Vancouver during the summer and I was absolutely mesmerized by the beauty and subtleties of the weavings. Phenomenal.
I’ve been spinning my American Eskimo’s fur, which is so incredibly soft and white, on a drop spindle that I made.

232323232fp533nu=335;>749>446>WSNRCG=3237;9;;9;868nu0mrj

My Eskimo


The next step for me was to take a course to see if I would like to get more involved in the processes of spinning and weaving. Yep. I liked it. (Rosalie was an awesome teacher!) Now, if you know anything about me, I have this rather “pitbull” approach to things. I am determined to learn things, finish things, and solve things. So spinning and weaving fibre suits me perfectly.
In fact, when I was 20 years old, I wanted to open up a wool shop, but I opened a used book and music store instead. There was more of a market for those things back then, as there is now. Fibre arts have come and gone, but this time I’m going to catch the wave.
DSCN2717

Left over wool from carding

  • My little neighbour, Jade, and I used some of the lumpy old leftover wool to practice with before we used “the good stuff.”

  • Here’s Jade working the drum carder. She loved this part the best.
    Jade using the drum carder
    DSCN2727
    One of two rather rough but beautiful rovings hanging to dry after dying them with koolaid.
    DSCN2736

    Jade's roving, dyed with pink, orange and red koolaid.

  • IMG_0163

    Old bed footboard

    DSCN2714
    Below is my recycled bed end that has been converted into a warping board. It actually has worked quite well, despite my first attempts on chair backs and door handles. (I would not recommend this unless you are ready for utter frustration.) I have since bought a warping mill which should speed up my 10 hour stint with my warping board. (NOT the board’s fault, I assure you.)
    I bought a bunch of kids’ wooden toys for the warping board pegs. A board can cost over $80 so my $10 bed deal was so worth it.

    There’s Jade weaving on the first project. And no, we have not spun anything that could be used for our weaving yet, but there’s hope.

    DSCN2743

    My little neighbour learning to weave


    I’ll be doing a workshop with some grade three students so I am accumulating wools and fibres from various sources, including our newly dyed rovings.
    The thrills of this hobby are countless. Here is our stash of homemade spindles and fibre. The baskets are brimming with novelty yarns from everywhere, in a multitude of colours and textures.
    DSCN2734

    The basket of all things fun


    Since I am new to all this, I am hoping I’ll be able to impart of bit of knowledge of the craft for their Pioneer Days. Wish me luck!

