Tags

, , ,

My latest project is to refinish an old maple dressing table along with my friend’s daughter, Jade. I had such a table as a young girl, and loved it, so I am hoping to foster that “girly” yet

Dressing table for Jade

Dressing table for Jade

capable feeling in my neighbour’s “girly” 8 year old.
Yikes, old enamel paint is hard to sand off.
The maple top's paint is finally scraped off.

The maple top's paint is finally scraped off.


Okay, I ended up using a gel stripper, but only as the last resort. (Jade did not help with this because of the chemicals.) I decided to use the gel because I wondered if the OLD paint was lead based and I didn’t want to breathe that either. Ugh!
The legs were very shaky and crooked so I’ve spent 2 evenings removing finishing nails(nearly impossible!), and then gluing and shimming and screwing the spindly things in place. I think it would have been easier to build this baby from scratch, but it’s so fun, I can’t help myself.
Gathering tape is sewn to the back of the fabric.

Gathering tape is sewn to the back of the fabric.


I am now sewing the gathering strip to the back of the faux silk fabric. This fabric is gorgeous; it’s crinkly and drapes sooo perfectly, but Jade is now not so sure if she loves it. Hmmmm.
This is the latest on the dressing table and we both love it!
Pink and white and beautiful!

Pink and white and beautiful!


This is my little carpenter, Jade. She is so patient and careful. She has been an absolute delight to “work” with on this project.
Distressing the legs

Distressing the legs


Cutting the dress for the table.

Cutting the dress for the table.

