Tags

, , ,

Finished headboard

Finished headboard

  • I am renewing my interests in hobbies that date back to my post high school days. Here are a couple of projects that I’ve just finished. I found a solid oak headboard for $15.00 at Salvation Army the other day.
    I wiped it down with a damp cloth, filled a few dents with oak wood putty, sanded it all by hand with 100 grit foam block sandpaper, removed the dust with a tack cloth and put 2 coats of white alkyd primer on it.
    After that was very dry, I painted it with 1 coat of antique white alkyd semi-gloss paint and it looks fabulous!
    The mirror is a very heavy wood, from another secondhand shop, for which I paid $20. It looked like plastic, but it has a beautifully hand carved dark Asian wood inset.
    I didn’t like the plastic finish so I sanded it down with a dremel tool and foam sanding blocks.
    It’s now primed, painted and ready to hang.

